We aim to make this site as accessible as possible and therefore have provided the settings below to use if you are finding it difficult to view this website. See the SFO Accessibility Statement for more information.

Where it is appropriate to provide a Welsh translation, you can switch to Cymraeg. See the Welsh Language Commissioner website for more information.

Use the settings button in the bottom right corner of the page to access these settings again.

We would like to use Analytics Cookies on our website. 

Turn these on below if you are happy with us collecting information on how our site is used, in order for us to improve the overall experience of our website. 

All other cookies are necessary and therefore by continuing to browse this website, you are agreeing to the usage of these cookies.

 See the SFO Privacy Policy for more information. 

Analytics Cookies

Ruth Evans joins SFO as Non-Executive Director

30 Ionawr, 2015 | Eitemau newyddion

The Serious Fraud Office has appointed Ruth Evans to join its Management Board as Non-Executive Director. She was appointed following an open competition and joins existing Non-Executive Directors Simon Duckworth OBE DL and Tony Osbaldiston.

Director of the SFO, David Green CB QC, who oversaw the appointment, said:

“In Ruth, we have a champion of the public and consumer interest with wide experience across the public, regulatory and commercial sectors. I am delighted to welcome her to the SFO.”

Ruth Evans said:

“I am very pleased to be joining the SFO, especially now, at a time of renewed vigour and sense of purpose at the organisation.  I look forward to playing a part in its continued improvement, in particular contributing to enhanced governance, efficiency and engagement.”

Ruth Evans has served as Chair and Deputy Chair of four regulatory boards and of two independent Inquiries. She has been a Non-Executive director of four financial services businesses, led three charities (War on Want, MIND and Maternity Alliance); and served as CEO and Accounting Officer of the National Consumer Council for seven years.

Today she is the Chair of ATVOD, the regulator of television on demand, Non-executive Commissioner of the Independent Police Complaints Commission, NED and Chair of Rem Co of CPP Group PLC, and founding Trustee of Alacrity Entrepreneurship Foundation, a graduate scheme established to build successful technology companies.  

Notes to editors:

  1. Ruth Evans took up her role at the SFO with effect from 26 January 2015.
  2. Her previous roles include serving as the first chairman of the Bar Standards Board, as deputy chair of the Ofcom Consumer Panel, and as chair of the General Medical Council’s Standards Committee.  She has chaired the Brompton & Harefield Inquiries into Baby Deaths, and the Independent Inquiry into Drug Testing at Work.
  3. The SFO’s other Non-Executive Directors are Simon Duckworth and Tony Osbaldiston.  Simon Duckworth is also a member of the City of London’s Police Committee, the police governing body for the City of London Police, currently serving as both its deputy chairman and as chairman of the City’s Economic Crime Board. He sits on both the Home Office’s National Crime Agency Programme Board and its Economic Crime Co-ordination Board. Tony Osbaldiston has significant expertise as a senior finance director and brings operational, international and City experience to the SFO. He has served on the boards of a wide variety of public limited companies, including FirstGroup plc, Raymarine plc, the BSS Group plc, and Synstar International plc and is currently Non-Executive Chairman of the Encon Group.